Crepe Attack!

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a great week! This week I am going to do a dish that is super popular in France and I had it A LOT when I traveled to Paris a few years ago. If you didn’t guess already, well it’s their Crepes!download

I don’t even know where to begin to talk about how amazing crepes are and how simple they are to make. The thing with crepes is you can fill it with whatever you want inside. You can make it a breakfast crepe, a lunch crepe, or even a dessert crepe! The dessert crepes are my favorite. That picture above makes me crave one right now!

Crepes are super easy to make and take very little preparation time! For those of you that don’t know what they are, well they resemble pancakes! You can even use pancake batter as the mix if you are really running low on time.

Ingredients You Will Need

  • All purpose flour (1 c)
  • salt (1/4 tsp)
  • sugar (1 tsp)
  • eggs (3)
  • milk (2 c)
  • butter (2 tbsp)

These are very simple everyday ingredients you should already have at home!

Instructions to Cook

All you really need to do now is mix all the ingredients together. Mix the wet or liquid ones together and the dry ones separately and then combine! Then just oil up a pan and pour the batter in! You want the batter to be very thin when you pour it in the pan and not thick like pancakes. Make sure both sides of the Crepe are golden brown and then you are officially done making your crepe. Make as many as you need to satisfy your hunger!

Different Ways to Eat

So as I stated earlier, with Crepes you can stuff it with anything you would like depending on if you want a breakfast crepe or dessert crepe. I personally always go for the dessert crepe. In Paris, I would always order Nutella and strawberries with whipped cream. It was heaven in my mouth. Every single one of my taste buds were satisfied that day. When I say you can put anything in a crepe I mean it. In the past I have put strawberries, bananans, nutella, whipped cream, blueberries, and raspberries into one crepe. A healthier version would be to eliminate the whipped cream and maybe use low fat cream cheese spread instead of the Nutella.. but I wouldn’t because Nutella is amazing.

Another way is to eat crepes as a breakfast food. I have stuffed crepes with eggs, cheese, bacon, sausage, onions,  and peppers into a breakfast crepe and it was the most satisfying breakfast I think I ever had. You can easily make vegetarian crepes as well by just adding vegetables and eggs. There is an endless amount of options of things you could do with Crepes. I recommend anyone that hasn’t had the wonderful pleasure of tasting crepes to go now and make some yourself!

A simple recipe thanks to allrecipes.com can help guide you through the process. The link can be found here.

Leave a Reply

