The shells aren’t the only things that are going to be stuffed!

download (1)Are you craving something cheesy today.. aside from  my jokes!? Well then today is your lucky day! As I was writing this post I was craving a lot of cheese and decided whats better than writing about stuffed shells! Stuffed shells are an amazing dish to make for dinner with the family or family parties or even when friends are coming over! The great thing about stuffed shells is it can be vegetarian OR non-vegetarian! I prefer to eat this dish as a vegetarian based dish.

Here is a pointer: This dish is the perfect thing to make for your date or boyfriend/girlfriend especially for anniversaries or date night but only if they love cheese and aren’t lactose intolerant! 
download

Today I want to talk about spinach and ricotta stuffed shells. I really want some right now even though it’s almost 10 pm! This is a dish that anyone can make, I can promise you that. My boyfriend can barely cook but made this dish for our anniversary and it was probably the most amazing thing I ate.. so believe me when I say anyone can make it( Sorry Neil if you’re reading this love you!) To make this meal a little more healthier just load up on some extra spinach when stuffing the shells!

Ingredients!

  • large pasta shells which you can purchase at any local grocery store
  • ricotta cheese
  • mozzarella cheese
  • Parmesan cheese
  • marinara sauce
  • eggs
  • oil
  • spinach
  • any toppings or spices you would like to add

As you can see, this dish requires a lot of cheese!

Directions

First step would be to preheat the oven to 375 degrees! Then begin cooking the pasta shells but remember to boil the water first. After the pasta shells are ready put them aside for later. Begin cooking the spinach and add garlic and whatever else you would like to fill the shells with. Next, pour all cheese and eggs and spinach into another bowl and mix it all together. At this point you want to add anything extra such as spices that you want in your spinach ricotta mixture.  Then pour half of the marinara sauce into the bottom of the pan or dish you are going to be baking the shells in. Begin to stuff the shells with the mixture you created. Place the shells in the pan and pour the rest of the marinara sauce on top of the shells.  Feel free to sprinkle any cheese on top of the shells before baking. Then wrap the baking dish with foil and bake for about 20-25 minutes. Take the foil off and bake for another 10 minutes or until golden brown. Take the baking dish out when its ready and sprinkle more Parmesan cheese on top before it cools down so it melts on top of the shells.

Now is the fun part. Eating the shells! You just wait until it cools down and the shells are ready to be served right away. Leftovers can be refrigerated but it doesn’t taste as good as the day of.

 

Hope you all enjoy this dish as much as I do!

A simple link to the recipe can be found here!

One thought on “The shells aren’t the only things that are going to be stuffed!

  1. rebeccaemont says:

    So I’m lactose intolerant…But if I take one of those little pills before eating anything with milk or butter in it then I should be good! Thanks for looking out for me, though! 😉

    These sound incredible. I love stuffed shells but have never added spinach to them. I’ll be home alone this whole week so you’ve just given me a great idea for a dinner recipe! Thanks for the idea! I’ll let you know if they’re good…but I’m sure they will be!

Leave a Reply

