2 minutes in heaven

Hey everyone! Since the semester is quickly coming to an end this is going to be my last post! I hope you all enjoyed my blog over this past semester and tried some of the meals I talked about!

This last post is going to be something I tried for the first time last week as a part of our group video project in this class.  Today I will tell you all how to make 2 minute french toast using just a microwave! YES you read that correctly! I couldn’t believe it either until I tried it myself! It’s quick and easy and tastes really good!!

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 slices of bread
  • butter
  • 3 table spoons of milk
  • syrup
  • 2 mugs
  • cinnamon (optional)

Preparation

There are a few simple steps to prepare this quick meal.

Step 1:  In one mug just take a spoonful of butter and melt it in the microwave for about 15 seconds.

Step 2: Then slice the bread into little cubes like this: cubed-hearty-wheat-bread-Natures-Pride-00

 

Step 3:  Put the cubed bread pieces into the mug with the melted butter. You can gently push down on the bread but don’t smash it all into the bottom. You want the butter to soak through the bread.

Step 4: In a separate mug, crack the egg and add the 3 tablespoons of milk into the mug.  Then you can add a pinch of cinnamon if you want.

Step 5: Next you are going to pour the liquid mixture from the second mug into the first mug on top of the bread pieces.

Step 6:  Now put the mug into the microwave for about 1 minute and 20-30 seconds so the eggs are cooked and are not runny.  You can cook it more or less depending on your personal preference.

Step 7: Now all you need to do is pour syrup on top of the bread pieces and it will look like this!!

IMG_7255

 

That’s it! I told you it was simple and very quick to make! I was skeptical at first but once I made it, it tasted just like french toast! I added more syrup as I ate more because there wasn’t enough for the bottom pieces of bread. I shared this with my roommates who all equally loved it! I would definitely recommend this recipe for anyone looking to make a tasty quick breakfast when you are in a rush!

Well folks, that is all I have for you! I hope you enjoyed reading my weekly blog posts and if you have any comments or questions about any of the recipes I posted just e-mail me at melaniexmaria@yahoo.com =]

Leave a Reply

